Audi at Le Mans 2016

Audi Sport brought the re-designed Audi R18 to Le Mans, France for the highlight of the 2016 World Endurance Championship. The very best hybrid prototype sports cars and GT racers competed in the defining endurance race on the world stage, where Audi extended their run of podium victories by securing third and fourth places.


Circuit des 24 Heures



Le Mans 2016 summary

View Le Mans 2016 highlights on

Meet the Le Mans circuit


13.629 km (8.47 miles)
circuit length

approx. 250 km/h (155mph)
average speed

gearshifts per lap

3m 16.887s
qualifying lap record

3m 17.475s
race lap record

Audi’s WEC track record at Le Mans (since 2012)

5 Races

3 Wins

2 1-2 & 1-2-3 finishes

9 Podiums

2 Pole positions

4 Fastest race laps

Meet the Audi R18


Audi Sport fundamentally re-designed the R18 for 2016, in doing so they created the most powerful and efficient Audi vehicle ever made. Featured predominantly are fresh innovations in aerodynamics and lightweight design, which is underpinned by a combined energy system that optimises maximum efficiency through hybrid electrical power and Audi's distinquished TDI engine, together producing a combined 1000hp.


Combustion engine


Hybrid system


Total power

Since Audi has competed at Le Mans with the V6 TDI (2011), the energy consumption has fallen by around 67 % per lap (calculated for 2016)


In contrast, the average speed, measured on the fastest lap of the quickest Audi, increased from 239 km/h (149mph) to 248 km/h (154mph)

Meet the Audi Sport drivers

Audi Sport introduced two new and improved Audi R18 cars at Le Mans 2016. Each car had three drivers, who all drove the car throughout the 24 hour race. In 2016, in the interest of maximum cost efficiency, Audi and its group sister brand Porsche, both agreed to each compete at Le Mans with just two cars per team, instead of the more traditional three car lineup.


Audi R18 #7

Marcel Fässler (Switzerland)

André Lotterer (Germany)

Benoît Tréluyer (France)

Audi R18 #8

Lucas di Grassi (Brazil)

Loïc Duval (France)

Oliver Jarvis (Great Britain)