Audi in the DTM Audi in the DTM

Audi at the DTM

Eight winners for the Audi RS 5 DTM

Five DTM titles for Audi, three for Mercedes-Benz and one for BMW - this is the "roll of honour" in the most popular international touring car championship since AUDI AG returned as a factory exactly nine years ago. The brand with the four rings aims to extend this advantage in the 2013 season.

Audi returned to the DTM in 2004 with the A4 DTM - and this with a bang: Drivers', Manufacturers' and Teams' titles went to Ingolstadt and Neckarsulm straight away. The hat trick followed in 2007, 2008 and 2009: Audi became the first automobile manufacturer in DTM history to take three DTM titles in succession. Another milestone followed in 2011 when a year-old car clinched the championship title for the first time.

The fundamentals are now similar to those two years ago: the technology in the DTM car was 'frozen' in accordance with the regulations as the checkered flag dropped at the 2012 season finale. Any technical development possible was very limited. For this reason, the Audi Sport DTM team concentrated on identifying if any of the 4,000 plus components in the race touring car, which was newly developed for the 2012 season, offered any optimisation potential.

Eight Audi RS 5 DTM cars join the grid for the 2013 DTM. They are fielded by the three proven Audi Sport squads Abt Sportsline, Phoenix and Rosberg, which have reinforced in part by recruiting additional personnel. Audi Sport also left nothing to chance when selecting the driver line-ups: two of the drivers are double DTM Champions, five have already won DTM races - and all eight have mounted the podium at least once.

New team-mate to Mattias Ekström (Sweden) at Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline and only newcomer at Audi is Briton Jamie Green - the 30-year-old is currently regarded as one of the fastest and best DTM drivers. The other driver pairings remain almost identical to the 2012 season. Timo Scheider (Germany) and Adrien Tambay (France) compete for Audi Sport Team Abt, Miguel Molina (Spain) and Mike Rockenfeller (Germany) for Audi Sport Team Phoenix, Filipe Albuquerque (Portugal) and Edoardo Mortara (Italy/France) for Audi Sport Team Rosberg.

The drivers only have a single 90-minute free practice session available before qualifying on Saturday afternoon. Preparation time between qualifying and the race was also reduced significantly. In addition to reduced costs, organisers of the popular racing series promise even more excitement and variety than before. Ten events are on the agenda for 2013, six of them in Germany. On top of these come races in Austria, Great Britain plus the Netherlands and on August 4 the debut event at the Moscow Raceway in Russia - a particularly interesting market, in which Audi could record growth in 2012 of 44.1 per cent compared to the previous year. The Audi DTM team's first appearance in Moscow at the beginning of February already developed great interest.


  • 05/05 Hockenheim (D)
  • 19/05 Brands Hatch (GB)
  • 02/06 Red Bull Ring (A)
  • 16/06 Lausitzring (D)
  • 14/07 Norisring (D)
  • 04/08 Moscow (RUS)
  • 18/08 Nürburgring (D)
  • 15/09 Oschersleben (D)
  • 29/09 Zandvoort (NL)
  • 20/10 Hockenheim (D)
Our technologies

Our technologies Discover more